UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

I get hit by this rather strange question with a 
fair degree of frequency:

Who are you?

It's only strange in context. What the asker
means is who are you to take it upon
yourself to try to change another person?

Well. That's a slap in the face, isn't it?

The question stems from my explicitly stated
willingness -- eagerness even -- to assist
others in their attempts to become better
people.

I don't really know what the issue is. I wait
until these people seek me out.

Almost always.

The question implies a certain degree of
discomfort with my assumed arrogance, which I
find startling and silly.

Life is an excercise in absolutely unwarranted
arrogance. Who are you? What do you
do that justifies the space and resources that
you consume? What value do you have?

I'll leave that to you to ponder.

As for my answer to the question...

Who am I? I am happy. Happier than you, happier
than any of your friends, happier than most
everyone you've met or will meet. That
emotional state alone justifies my actions as
a teacher, role model and guide.

I am tired of people trying to make me feel that
the respect -- even the adoration -- of others
is something that I should be uncomfortable
with.

I am also tired of being told that I should
refrain from trying to change people simply
because to do so is arrogant.

A crippling fear of responsibility and a
lethargic refusal to act do not constitute
higher moral ground.












NEXT PREVIOUS