UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Panther comments on fat and attractiveness here and here.

I have a point to raise in favor of Panther's argument, and then I would like to discuss my personal reasons for finding fat people less attractive than thin people. Perhaps my readers will find something that resonates.

First, the point:

It seems to be very common in our culture to pay lip service to the idea that judging someone's attractiveness based on his or her physical appearance or weight is "shallow."

Why is it that judging someone based on their weight is shallow, but judging someone based on their personality or intelligence is deemed preferable or acceptable?

In short, why is personality more important or significant than appearance?

Let me elaborate by pointing out that it seems particularly unfair to make judgments about someone's personality or intellect... those are things that people have little, if any, control over. At least fat people can starve themselves and rectify the situation. I can lose weight if I deem it necessary... but I'll always be a jackass, and it just isn't fair that I be judged for something that I just can't control.


I'm just having some fun with this of course, (you read the disclaimer, right?) but the point still stands. We view it as inherently obvious that personality is more important than appearance, and we never pause to examine that claim. We should.

Particularly since it is obvious that our gut instincts seem to feel that "personality" can go shove off while we slam it to that pretty, vapid, empty-headed cheerleader.


I had more to say concerning my personal aesthetic values, but I've run out of time and I should start getting ready for KyuKi-Do.

I don't know where the time went... I must have spent too long gorging myself on those six slices of french toast, fried in butter and slathered with real maple syrup. Mmm mmm good.

My body is a temple.












NEXT PREVIOUS