UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

I guess someone has to say it, otherwise it's just going to hover in the background of all of our thoughts like the alcoholic elephant that humps your mom on the living room coffee table:

The online diary craze has died among my friends: astralounge, panther, astralounge and unequivocal.1

(I'm not including d-orbital or fuzzybottom in the list, since they were never particularly crazed about online journaling.)

In certain regards this makes me sad. It feels like the end of an important era in my life, and that idea always fills me with a certain melancholy.

In other ways it comes as something of a relief. Although I think that there have been many positive aspects to this experience, it has brought with it it's share of unhappiness and miscommunication. Moreover, it has, at points, become unrealistically time consuming. It is nice to see it scaled back a little bit.

Incidentally, I don't mean for this entry to sound as though I'm finished writing, or as though I expect everyone else to be. I don't even mean it to indicate that I will be disappointed if the frequency of everyone else's journaling cycles back up. I'm merely making an observation: we appear to be winding down... and that's okay.

I think it may be close to time to look for a new rabid obsession to engage in. Variety is, after all, the spice of life... and things here at diaryland are growing a bit bland.

There are not enough sparkly lights, strange costumes and engaging activities online.

Anyway, welcome to Spring.


1Note that I didn't say "online journaling has died among my friends." I know that isn't the case. But the "craze" part of it appears to be over.










NEXT PREVIOUS