UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

D-orbital says in my guestbook that she had a prof who insisted on having students write in E-prime, and who took off a full letter grade for each instance of "to be" found in a paper.

While I acknowledge that that would make things much more difficult for students, I can't help but feel that it would also provide tremendous help in clarifying their writing.

I don't think that writing in E-prime all the time would work, since it slows down communication and does not always serve a useful purpose...

But I do think that everyone should have some practical experience with the technique.


I wrote this entry in E-prime. It took me twice as long as similar entries have in the past. I think I avoided the spooks. If not, please let me know.










NEXT PREVIOUS