UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Wow, do I ever hurt today. I had the most fascinating injury in Judo yesterday; during a routine throwing drill, one of my new students set me up for Harai Goshi (sweeping hip). As he loaded me, my uniform ripped, putting him off balance. He completed the throw, but came down on top of me, hard. Because I was still locked up with him, there wasn't really any way to slap out, so all that I was able to do was, in the immortal words of my own dear instructor "get real tough, real fast."

I tensed up and tucked slightly, protecting my neck and head from any damage. The student's weight instead came down directly on my right shoulder as I landed, pinning me to the mat and crushing my shoulder between judoka and floor.

There was a jolt of intense pain, and something inside my shoulder made what can best be described as a "squirting" sound... similar to the noise it makes when you tear a drumstick off a well-done turkey, but quite a bit wetter sounding.

The pain dissipated almost instantly, being supplanted immediately by a hot sensation. It felt like someone had injected a syringe full of hot tap water directly into the muscles around my shoulder blade.

The heat was also gone almost instantly, this time replaced by an utter numbness, spreading down from my shoulder to my arm, and then settling into the fingers.

It was one of those injuries where you know - you just know - that you will feel it the next day... and the next month... and probably on cold, rainy days twenty years down the line.

Amazingly however, I felt relatively okay within only a few minutes. Today I'm extremely sore in my neck muscles and shoulder muscles, but there doesn't seem to be any lingering damage to the joint, which, frankly, amazes me.










NEXT PREVIOUS