UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Mytwocents weighs in on the abortion debate. One of the things she notes:

The point is that they have banned a certain procedure that I find particularly ghastly and that occurs after the fifth month of pregnancy (which is a time when I don�t think abortions should be legal�if you can�t figure out that you are pregnant and decide what to do about it in 5 damned months... you are an ignorant human being and I have no pity for you).

This sums up my feelings on the issue nicely, but I was surprised to hear mytwocents agree with me. I was not aware that she shared my gleeful desire to see people hurt.

If I was someone who had a social conscience, I would argue that the people who can't figure out that that they are pregnant and decide what to do about it within five months are precisely the ones who should be aborting... maybe at gunpoint.

Thankfully, the portion of my psyche that would normally house my social conscience has been given over to storage space for intricate rape-fantasies involving aliens, nurses, and thigh-high stiletto boots. I am therefore free to express my glee at the idea of the spreading ripples of human misery and desperation that unwanted children will bring to society.

You may think I'm joking or perhaps making a point through satire. You would be dead wrong. There is only so much luck and happiness to go around, and the more miserable, unwanted children, put-upon, unhappy mothers and resentful, disinterested fathers there are in the world, the more happiness and good cheer for me.

In any event, as mytwocents points out, stupid, unprepared, irresponsible people should have to pay the price for their behavior. Again, you may think I'm joking, but I'm not. I've only ever heard one person put it more succinctly and honestly than mytwocents:

One of my dear, dear, evil friends, a benighted soul by the name of Maxwell, once got into an argument with another friend regarding abortion. Max was viciously, rabidly anti-abortion, and he did a fine job of arguing his opponent down into the dust, using a wide variety of well thought-out and socially relevant points to prove how damaging abortion is to individuals and to society.

It was both impressive and engaging, but it also smacked of some serious bullshit. Later, when Max and I were alone, out in the darkness and the wind where we habitually walked, I asked him to come clean. Was he really anti-abortion?

I was surprised. He really was.

How, I asked him, could he reconcile that with his general misanthropy and utter disregard for human life?

Max looked at me, unsmiling and bleak, and said, "Abortion is too easy. I believe that people should have to suffer for their mistakes."

I could not have put it better myself, and I'm glad to see that mytwocents feels the same way.


Astralounge is probably chortling to herself right now, believing that I've struck a clever and amusing blow on behalf of the pro-choice camp.

Astralounge is quite wrong. Frankly, I don't give a shit one way or the other about abortion, and I'm certainly not interested in preserving women's oh-so-precious right to maintain autonomy over her own body. I'll buy into that load of fucking bullshit as soon as men are granted equal rights to decide whether they want to abdicate all responsibility for the fetus. And yeah ladies, that includes financial responsibility.

Anyway, I don't support Astralounge in any of her feminist leanings, because she is not willing to apply them fairly. As she so explicitly states, she may be a feminist, but she's also lazy. In other words, she's more than willing to accept those gender stereotypes that make her life easier.

I'll wind up this little snark-fest by saying the following:

Mytwocents: Obviously, I don't believe that you oppose abortion because having unwanted children hurts people. Nevertheless, the statement that I quoted from your entry isn't exactly a brilliant defense of the pro-life standpoint. Aren't you supposed to "have pity on the ignorant human beings?" You know... the little ones?

Astralounge: I emphatically do not support your right to freedom of choice, you goddamned hypocrite. Either concede your rights, or learn to change your own damn tires.












NEXT PREVIOUS