UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Mtc writes in my guestbook, regarding my last entry:

But femininity has its drawbacks as well. Have you ever acted as if you are unsure of yourself (when you are perfectly sure of yourself) just to keep from being labeled a "pushy bitch"?

No, no, of course not. I have, however, felt obligated to act unsure of myself (when I was perfectly sure of myself) just to keep from being labeled as "threatening." And lest anyone assume that I was being guilty of over-censuring myself, let me point out that that was in direct response to being told by a girl that I made her uncomfortable because I was "so sure of myself."

In any event, the point at hand is not that women have it easier than men; I don't think that they do. I do, however, think that a lot of women mistakenly assume that being a man is easier, or simpler, or that men are priviliged in that they can simply act naturally without fear of social repercussions. I also believe that many women mistakenly assume that women have to be more careful about the public image they present than men do.

That is not to say that women don't have to be careful about the image they present; I understand that they do... everyone does. But I think that the repercussions involved are substantially different for men and women. You worry about being labeled a "pushy bitch?" That is a legitimate concern, and it would be a grave disservice to you if society's maladjusted standards of proper feminine/masculine behavior earned you that label.

Me? I worry about being sued or jailed or fired or permanently ostracized and stigmatized for inadvertantly offending someone. Frankly, I'd far rather be seen as a pushy bitch.

And, as a final note, women have recourse when confronted with gender-based social injustice. Men frequently do not. If someone refuses to promote you because you're a "pushy bitch," you can sue them, and probably win. But who compensates me? Who do I sue over the atmosphere of intolerance, hostility and paranoia that I am expected to work in?

Blaise, obviously.










NEXT PREVIOUS