UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

The Temple of the Star

III. Doubled Love Sonnet

I remember wanting everything

About her: eyes and skin and hair. . .

I wanted to own her soul. . . to sing

Her praises. I would follow anywhere,

Provided I was at her heels. That

Was how I learned to love; how I grew

To love myself. My soul gained heft, grew fat

As hers diminished. And that was true

And good. I only knew that I was strong

Enough for both of us. For all of us.

And I wasn't ever, ever wrong,

For all that that was worth. I just

Couldn't bear to learn, to understand

The difference between a lover and a friend.

How sad and trite that sounds. It's not.

For what it's worth, we never quite forgot

What all those things might have meant.

Our friends have looked at us and claimed "The two

Of you would make a lovely couple." The sentiment

Was hardly lost on us. We smiled, shook our heads, and grew

A little closer after every word they said.

We have other lovers, twice as good as we

Would be. That does little to change the red

Flush of heat when we speak over coffee,

But it does help preserve proprieties.

For that we're very grateful. The sound

Of our voices might otherwise be apt to seize

Us. . . pull us down. . . and soak us till we drowned.












NEXT PREVIOUS