UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Still on the topic of Wal-Mart:

Let's start by distinguishing between "boycotting" and "not patronizing."

"Boycott" is a powerful word. It should be. It's a powerful activity. It incorporates more than an individual refusing to shop at a store.

Boycotting involves a concerted effort intended to result in a specific concession. It generally requires an organization (most frequently a labor union) and a list of demands. It could be argued that it is impossible for an individual to boycott anything (certain mythic figures like Bill Gates or George Bush notwithstanding).

In the absence of a concerted, unionized effort, complete with a specific and well-articulated statement of purpose, a boycott cannot exist.

That's neither here nor there though. I understand the gist behind refusal to patronize Wal-Mart. I also understand that the idea is that individuals can make a difference... grassroots activism will eventually gather momentum and become a force to be reckoned with. This idea is lent credence by the way in which the decisions of individual vegetarians have crippled the meat industry.

Oh, wait. No it's not.


Refusal to patronize a store is not activism. It is in-activism. You really want to make a difference? Patronize Wal-Mart and go out of your way to make everyone there miserable. That's what I do when stores operate in a fashion that I don't like.

A quick story: when I was younger, I went to a Stop-n-Go near my house and bought gas. When I went inside and presented my check (check number 140 or so), the clerk told me that it was store policy not to accept checks under number 500. I pointed out that if that was the policy, they should have it posted somewhere... preferably on the gas pumps. We went back and forth for a while, but the eventual result was that the clerk accepted my check, since the gas was already in the tank. She made it clear that this was the only time that she would do this.

I was righteously pissed. So, of course, I resolved not to bless Stop-n-Go with my business anymore. Cause, you know, that would show them.

Actually, what I did was make it a point to purchase all of my gasoline at that Stop-n-Go. The next time I came in, I repeated the same process with a different clerk... the results were the same as before. With the gas already in my car, there was precious little they could do. I pointed out again that if this was their policy, that was fine... but they should have it clearly posted.

The next time I came in, the first clerk was on duty. When I presented my check, she told me she couldn't accept it. I took the check back, voided it, and wrote out an I.O.U. with my name and phone number. I told her that when her manager was ready to come over and pick up his money (and apologize), he could call that number. She backpedaled and said she would be happy to accept my check.

The next time I came in, there was a new cashier. I pumped twelve dollars of gas into the car, and went in to pay. As I was writing out my check, the cashier glanced at the number and told me that she wouldn't be able to accept it. I closed the checkbook and told her that was just fine -- I had brought cash. I pulled out a gallon Ziploc filled with pennies, and prepared to dump it onto the counter. The new clerk quickly rethought her previous stance and declared that my check would be perfectly acceptable, thank-you-very-much.

The next time I came to get gas, there was a brand new sign on the gas pumps. It said "Your check is welcome. All checks are verified by Check-It."

And that was the last time I had a problem getting Stop-n-Go to accept my checks.


Any day when I get to call "bullshit" on a close friend is a good day in my book. Blood, sunshine and bullshit.

First, I have to call bullshit on this:

Second, I have to take issue with Unequivocal's statement that boycotting Wal-Mart is as pointless an activist statement as turning on your car lights. Turning on one's car lights is a ridiculous sentiment. It means nothing and it communicates nothing.

While perhaps very slightly more meaningful, a personal boycott of a corporation communicates even less than the loving display of headlights on 9-11-02. A slight change in your personal behavior educates no one, unless you find some way to make it high profile. Posting it in your journal helps, but not as much as taking the time to go out and personally inform people of what they're doing wrong and what they should do instead.

Next, I have to call bullshit on this:

It's not picketing. It's not engaging in a letter campaign. But do you have any evidence that those activities are more effective actions (and not simply more active actions) anyway?

Nope. Reckon I don't have any actual evidence that those things would be more effective. I guess I also don't have any actual evidence that getting poked in the eye with a fork is less pleasant than say, a hand job. I pretty much operate on inferences and guesswork in these matters, and sometimes what I mistake for common sense may lead me astray.

As a teacher, both Astralounge and I understand the importance of educating people. That's the first step in any sort of social change. Handing out literature in the Wal-Mart parking lot would do two things:

It might get a few Wal-Mart shoppers to rethink their actions and possibly even take their business elsewhere.

It will definitely get me to join in on this little boycott. I'll do it on principle alone. I like to see people put their money where there beliefs are, and this is an opportunity for both Astralounge and I to do just that.

So... here's a chance to definitely change the actions of at least one person, and maybe the actions of several. All it would take is a couple of hours printing up flyers and signs, and a couple hours distributing them. It's not that much really... in the greater scheme of things it really isn't much more of a sacrifice than turning on your car lights. It really isn't.


Some of you are probably wondering where I'm going with this, and what I hope to accomplish. Some of you may even think that I'm being pointlessly combative and picking on Astralounge for doing something that actually constitutes a positive and praiseworthy (if small) change in her behavior.

The fact is, I am consistently unimpressed with people's beliefs. Astralounge is no exception to this. Neither is anyone else.

I just don't ever see a degree of integrity and commitment commensurate with the pride people take in their beliefs or with the strength they claim to hold them with.

What I want is this: for people to simply sag their shoulders and admit that their beliefs aren't as strong as they pretend.

People are proud of their miniscule efforts and tiny commitments. That pride stands in the way of change. Should I volunteer at the local homeless shelter? Nah... I dumped a couple of quarters in the Salvation Army's collection pot. Should I maybe join a gym or a martial arts class and try to get myself into something resembling shape? Well, heck, I don't need to do that... I had them hold the cheese and mayo on my Big Mac at lunch. Should I write a letter to my senator telling him that I disagree with his policies regarding displaying the Ten Commandments on public buildings? No, I'll just sign the online petition.

I would like to see that pride stripped away. It offends me on some level I can barely articulate. It cheapens the validity of those few things that people do that do make a difference. It lulls us all into a false sense of accomplishment. It lets us pretend that we have done enough.

It is pride without substance, and it chafes at me.

This has nothing to do with Astralounge, though she is currently a convenient target and point of illustration. She is no weaker in her beliefs than the great majority of people I have met, and she is stronger than most.

It is not enough. It is not enough, but it is too easy to let yourself believe that it is enough.

So, what do I want? I want to hear Astralounge say "this is a small issue for me, and I'm not willing to put much effort or sacrifice into it. It is not important enough for me to sacrifice three or four hours of my time over."

Or I want to hear Astralounge say, "this issue is important enough to me that I'll call your bluff, and I will sacrifice that time, and you'll do it with me by God!"


I don't lay claim to many beliefs, or take a stance on many issues. I wish to maintain my integrity, and I would be a hypocrite if I was to lay claim to a belief and not devote substantial effort to upholding that belief.

I believe that it is important to make people think and laugh and question themselves, but that is a small belief for me, and the things that I do to support that belief are equally small. I inflict a bit of Discordianism and poetic terrorism on people when it is possible and convenient, but I don't fool myself into believing that the impact of my actions ranges much beyond brightening or darkening a single individual's day.

I believe that people are plagued by bio-physical stupidity, and that developing a healthy body is an integral step in becoming a whole person. I believe that very strongly, and in accordance with that belief, I spend a bare minimum of ten hours every week teaching martial arts. There is joy in that, and there is satisfaction, but there is also enough substantial sacrifice to justify the pride I take in my work.

Finally, I believe that people should put some genuine effort and sacrifice into upholding their beliefs. I believe that strongly enough that I'm willing to give up a few hours of my life and adopt a cause I don't believe in just to show my support for the idea of putting effort behind your ideology. I don't believe it strongly enough that I relish the idea... In the unlikely event that Astralounge calls me on this, I definitely won't be looking forward to our educational afternoon at Wal-Mart... But I'll do it.

What do the rest of you believe? More significantly, what are you doing about it?










NEXT PREVIOUS