UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Ah. I appreciate the opportunity to prevent diaryland from automatically inserting paragraph breaks into my entries. Normally it makes little difference, but it is a huge pain in the ass when I want to code in javascript. Ooh it pisses me off.

All right. So. I'm actually writing because I just read Blaise's entry on the pro-anorexia web site, and felt like arguing. My points (which I expect to see addressed concisely and elegantly at the Astralounge) are:

1) After careful review and consideration, I have come to the conclusion that this site is a parody. Examining the "Thin Commandments" reveals an underlying spirit of sarcasm, an objective understanding of the mechanics of anorexia and a healthy disdain for anorexics. This is, in my opinion, a hoax. Which is a shame, because

2) Our culture needs a strong pro-anorexia lobby. Anorexia is no different than other (dangerous) forms of body alteration, branding, ritual scarification or amputation. Although I personally find many such activities distasteful and not worth the risk, I wholeheartedly support anyone who wishes to engage in such diversions. Although, in truth, my support of anorexia may derive from the fact that

3) Anorexics deserve to die. Come on now, really... This is Darwinism at work. If the pro-ana website linked at the Astralounge convinces even a single white, middle-class high school girl to starve herself to death, then humanity's gene pool has been strengthened.

I support suicide for the same reason. Dysfunctionally depressed person makes decision to conclusively end their whining? The rhythmic percussion in the background is my applause.

Disclaimer: Don't misunderstand me here... I am only endorsing this if people are really willing to put their balls to the wall (or, in the case of female anorexics, their sadly deflated, withered dugs to the wall). If you're going to be anorexic, be ANOREXIC! Don't just be hungry... fast for the full 42 days. Similarly, if you're going to kill yourself, don't take a handful of pills... take a walk off the top floor of a twelve story building. No half-hearted pleas for attention please.

To read my real disclaimer, click here.










NEXT PREVIOUS