UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

As even my most casual of readers know, one of my greatest joys in life is taking Astralounge to task for her comments, opinions and attitudes. Any and all of her comments, opinions and attitudes.

Normally I am perfectly willing to just tear into her without preamble, explanation or mercy. I figure she knows that when I call her a stupid bitch, it's all in good fun.

(Actually, I've never called her a stupid bitch... but I imagine the sentiment comes across swimmingly in some of my entries, even if the phrasing is nominally more polite.)

In any case, it's rare for me to really care about any of the issues that Astralounge raises. Her petty concerns and beliefs are normally insufficient to move me much beyond the realm of addressing logical gaps or small hypocrisies.1

Therefore, on those rare occasions when I genuinely disagree with her, I like to be very careful.

So. In addressing Astralounge's latest entry, I would like to preface my statements by pointing out that A) I respect Astralounge as a teacher, and I feel that she has the wherewithal and mindset to accomplish a great deal of good, B) I am not claiming that she has done anything wrong or reprehensible, and C) I have not been privy to any of the actual classes Astralounge discusses, and hence my nervousness regarding the issue may be wholly unfounded.

What I want to address is this statement:

On the other hand, I have had a significant number of women's studies students tell me the class really opened their eyes to oppression, sexism, racism, classism and so on. It's so exhilarating, so rewarding to hear that I am making a difference in the lives of others. Even if it's a small difference, even if it'll be forgotten in a few months. Maybe, just maybe, I am planting seeds that will lead to a better future.

It has been my experience (in Women's Studies classes in particular) that a great deal of emphasis is placed on "opening students' eyes" to the rampant sexism and oppression that permeates American culture. I think that it is time that today's teachers examine the validity and usefulness of placing that as a primary goal in their classes.

It has been my experience that most women these days (especially most young women) are acutely aware of how much they are being oppressed.

It has also been my experience that a great number of these women are angry. Very angry. Perhaps they are right to be so. However, the overwhelming majority of angry women also seem to take a frightening satisfaction in being angry. I think they are perhaps not so right to revel in their rage.

There is joy and satisfaction and solidarity and even triumph in being a victim, in being oppressed, in being alienated. Anger can make you feel alive. Overcoming adversity can provide such a sense of pride and accomplishment that there are some people who will seek adversity even when it isn't actually there.

These are not healthy emotions to cultivate in people.

My concern then is this: are you sure that when people say "thank you for opening my eyes to oppression and sexism and racism," they are expressing gratitude that you actually changed their worldview... or are they simply pleased that you provided a few more examples of things that they can be angry about?

Maybe you are planting seeds that will lead to a better future... but maybe for some of those people you are planting seeds that will lead to divisiveness, anger, resentment and hatred.

So... two questions, or two items that I feel you should at least consider. First of all, do you place sufficient focus on teaching students how to improve the state of the world, or is most of your time spent on pointing out all the myriad examples of where oppression exists? Secondly, are you making an effort to let your students know how counterproductive poorly directed anger and resentment can be to the issue of equal rights, or are you actually encouraging that anger and resentment?

These are not accusations that are being leveled at you (though I have met several teachers who such accusations could be leveled at). They are simply considerations that I think all teachers should carefully ponder.

The truth of the matter is this: mainstream feminism is losing out by alienating a huge percentage of the population with vitriol, hatred and misdirected anger. There are numerous intelligent, moral, active people (both male and female, but especially male) who are 100% in favor of equal rights for women, but who are unwilling to tether themselves to a movement that, as a general rule, vilifies and demonizes men.

I'm one of them.


1Actually, I love Astralounge for her beliefs. They give me the opportunity to say incredibly snide things like this.










NEXT PREVIOUS