UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

In my dream, I went a-questing. I traveled far and wide through a bustling city. I sought the outskirts, that I might continue my journey -- for I knew that I had far to go before I came to the Chapel, and the treasure that it held -- but I was lost and tired, and spoke not the language of the city-dwellers. My feet were sore and blistered 'ere I came to the shop.

A dingy place it was, and I liked not the length of the shopkeep's fingers when he beckoned me in, nor did I care for the curious designs carved above the doorway. Still, many miles had I traveled, and many more stretched before me, and I thought it possible that the shopkeep could show me the way from the city.

So I entered in, and the shopkeep made it clear by signaling with his hands that I was to sit before the fire. This I did, though with much hesitation, for I still cared not at all for the shopkeep's looks, and I seemed to think I had seen his narrow eyes and thin-lipped smile in some ill-omened dream or vision.

Still, many miles had I traveled, and many more stretched before me, and I was greatly wearied. I sat before the fire, and the shopkeep sat across from me, and spoke in the lilting, alien language of the city. I understood not what he said, but strove to be attentive out of politeness, for I knew that proper manners could often convey more than words, and I had no wish to offend.

At length he rose and made his way to a chest in the shadowed corner, from which he drew forth a jeweled bauble. He returned to me and placed the object in my hand. I was wont to hesitate, for in the bright lands one does not accept gifts lest some unknown payment be exacted... but 'ere this thought had flitted through my mind, my fingers had already closed on the jeweled orb.

The shopkeep smiled, and I felt my heart flutter in my breast, for now was I certain I had seen his features elsewhere, and I greatly feared that he might work some mischief on me.

But he only gestured to the floor before his fire, indicating that I might spend the night there, were I so inclined.

And I was not inclined, for I felt a great uneasiness at the shadows in the shop, and at the manner in which the shopkeep's eyes glittered in the firelight. Still, many miles had I traveled, and many more stretched before me, and outside a storm began to brew, and I had little enough desire to continue my quest on such a night.

So I sat before the fire, and the shopkeep retreated to a back room of his own after locking the front door. I sat before the fire, and examined the bauble I had been gifted with, and watched the firelight sparkle and burn in the jewels on its surface. My eyes grew heavy, and my head nodded.

I slept, and in my sleep, I dreamed.












NEXT PREVIOUS