UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

I have what I believe are generally unacceptable views on the struggle for equal rights. Here is my first view:

Fighting for equality is great. More power to you, and as long as the struggle doesn't interfere too greatly with my life, I'll be happy to lend a hand.

But fighting against inequality -- which is, I fear, what too many minorities, feminists and well-meaning fringe groups are now doing -- is, perhaps, not so wise.

Who, exactly are you fighting?

Yes, yes... I know. The patriarchy. The entrenched power structure. The Illuminati bastards. The MAN.

If you believe it, you're a bigger fool than you claim everyone is trying to make you out to be.

Do you actually credit the existence of a malevolent, sinister control group intent on grinding you down and keeping you in your place?

(Don't answer that Blaise. The question was rhetorical, as is this essay.)

The point is, that's how you act... like there's a group that's out to get you.

There isn't. No one plots, no one cares, no one is interested. Quit pretending this is a war.

Because you're never going to succeed if your first step is to confront an enemy that doesn't exist.










NEXT PREVIOUS