UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

With all of that out of the way, it gives me great pleasure to present to you

The Parable of the Fist

A Shaolin Master agreed to train a young monk. At the beginning of the first lesson, the Master ordered his student to punch him, and to put as much force into the punch as he possibly could.

The young monk made a fist, drew back, and struck the Master in the face with all his might. The monk bloodied his knuckles and broke his wrist, but the Master was unmoved and uninjured.

As he bound his student's wrist and cleaned his wounded knuckles, the Master asked if the monk understood today's lesson.

The monk said "yes... I failed because I struck you too hard, and injured myself in the process."

The Shaolin Master shook his head and replied "No. You failed because you struck me with your hand rather than your fist."










NEXT PREVIOUS