UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Hey, here�s an addendum to the last entry.

I worked with a man who changed the way I thought
about people.

I�ll call him �Fred,� though I doubt there�s much
need to preserve his anonymity.

Fred was pretty dumb. If everyone was as kind
and careful as they should be in a perfect and
nonsensical world, we could go ahead and
replace �pretty dumb� with �afflicted with a
medium-grade learning disorder.�

It�s not a perfect world, and few people are kind
or careful. Fred wouldn�t afflict himself
with a medium-grade learning disorder, and I
won�t either. He was just dumb. He struggled
with simple concepts that came like a snap to
most people. He had to work hard to function
at a level that most people sink to.

He was one of the happiest, most cheerful,
pleasant, self-actualized people I ever met.
He changed the way I felt about the importance
of intelligence.

Fred was perfectly aware of his strengths and
weaknesses. He wasn�t so dumb that he didn�t
know that life had been unfair to him... but
he also wasn�t dumb enough to waste time and
energy railing against the injustice of it
all.

I hate people who rail against the injustice of
it all. What a fucking waste. Tell me
something I don�t know.

Anyway, Fred was happy. I never asked him if
people picked on him when he was a kid...
maybe they didn�t.

But I think you and I know better than that. I
think Fred was hounded mercilessly, cruelly
and deliberately through most of his
adolescent life. I�d be willing to bet money
on it.


The last time I talked to Fred, he�d just gotten
a pay raise to the highest level available to
a non-management employee. He had gotten married a
few months earlier, and had a son on the way.
He glowed.

I have a hard time sympathizing with
people.












NEXT PREVIOUS