UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Interesting note regarding Walmart's gender discrimination.

From the brief research that I did on the subject, it appears that the class action suit being leveled against Walmart has a valid basis. This is a topic that is genuinely worthy of American interest.

And yet, despite having heard about this issue numerous times in the recent past, I continued to dismiss it as irrelevant until Astralounge piqued my interest.

Like many Americans, I've developed a tendency to filter out most of the protests from minorities and women that claim mainstream culture treats them unfairly. It's a skill that has become increasingly necessary if one wishes to maintain sanity in a culture that has become obsessed with attributing racial and sexist motivations to every facet of life.

It seems that for every legitimate outcry against unfair treatment, there are three or four illegitimate claims, ranging in nature from the irrelevant to the patently absurd. Dismissing them all out of hand becomes more efficient and practical than picking through the lies, exaggerations and embellishments.

There is a fable you have probably heard about the little boy who cried wolf. Most people understand the moral behind the fable to be "don't lie," but in the case of the little girl who cried oppression, one could make a case that the lesson is "choose your battles wisely."


I will not be boycotting Walmart (as I'm sure you all had already guessed). I don't shop there often anyway, so a boycott wouldn't make any substantial difference anyway. Maybe I'll drive with my headlights on to protest though. It would demonstrate the same general level of commitment and self-sacrifice.

In any case, I'd skin live babies if it would save me 10 cents a week on toilet paper. The plight of Walmart's workers does not impress me as much as pennies in my pocket.

Besides... Walmart got its start in the south. One should expect poor service, poor business practices and general apathy from any southern institution.

Though there are Walmarts throughout the entire United States (as well as in nine additional countries), a substantial majority remain in the south. I see nothing wrong with southerners being paid less than the national average... it ties in with the whole "get paid what you're worth concept."

So. That's my general take. On the other hand, if anyone wants to make signs and picket the local Walmart, make an extra one for me. I'd be happy to join in, just on the general principle of promoting honest-to-god activity rather than armchair activism.

I can almost hear the thought processes now: "Ooh... That Unequivocal fellow is such an asshole. I'd really like to call his bluff and prove him wrong! But making signs and going out and picketing something is really more effort than I'm willing to put forth on behalf of my beliefs."

Ha ha! Lamers.










NEXT PREVIOUS