UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

Hmm. Mytwocents raises an interesting issue here.

I'm not sure if I entirely agree that on some deep level we continue to store everything that we ever experienced, although I'm not sure if I entirely disagree either. I certainly believe that we retain a whole lot more than we can ever access.

This raises an interesting question. I believe (and I think that most people believe) that our experiences are very heavily colored and altered by our perceptions. In other words, when we remember or discuss event X, we aren't really remembering or discussing the event... we are remembering or discussing our heavily biased and colored perceptions of X.

Now my question is this: there are obviously things about us that alter our perception of X... but do those alterations happen before, after or during the time when X is being processed and stored in our memory?

In other words, is it possible that somewhere in our heads there are unbiased, purely accurate recollections untouched and unfiltered by our emotional, intellectual, inaccurate minds? Or are even our deepest memories of a given experience already filtered and changed by the time they become memories?

It seems likely that, at the very least, our deeper memories hold more accurate representations of reality.

Of course, even if we could access those memories, I suppose that our current mindsets would immediately alter the basic nature of the deeper memories.

Still... it would be so fascinating to be able to access those theoretically pristine recollections. If nothing else, think how much we could learn about ourselves by "re-experiencing" a given event multiple times while in different mindsets and seeing what appears to change. I would wager that all sorts of things change... that our perceptions of the same event would be radically, wonderfully different each time we accessed the memory.

I tell you, as soon as they're able to hook people up to computers, I'll be the first in line to get jacked in to the network.










NEXT PREVIOUS