UNEQUIVOCAL



CURRENT
OLDER
HOST
CONTACT
GUEST BOOK
PROFILE
DISCLAIMER

I admit it. Although I am not a supporter of Bush, I love having him in office. It caters to my deep-seated and geekish predilection toward science fiction.

Really, how can you not appreciate Bush's presidency? This is the only time in recorded history when people have lived in an empire that is ruled by an evil monkey.

An evil monkey who wants to invade Mars no less. We live in blessed times.


Seriously though, I had a revelation the other day: no matter what the outcome of the upcoming election, I will be pleased.

From an idealistic standpoint, I would like to see the democrats win, primarily because they don't appear to be genuinely malevolent. That would be a nice change from the current government. Also, it would be nice to take a break from bombing the hell out of all the brown people.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that the country benefits from the presence of a strong, conservative, repressive element that is unfriendly to minorities and hostile toward free speech... that gives the left something that they can fight against.

In the absence of that repressive element, the left seeks to continue its battle against repression by demonizing the innocent. In my opinion, it's much better when there is a real opponent for them to focus on. People who are intent on making the Bush administration recant it's anti-gay stance are working to effect positive change... if it wasn't for Bush, those same people would be just as active, but they would be focusing their efforts on things like preventing the computer industry from using the phrase "master/slave" to describe primary and secondary drives.

Because, you know, that will make the world a better place.


Anyway, you pick your poison and then you convince yourself that the taste is to your liking. The primary difference between republicans and democrats is the difference between proscription and prescription... The republicans want to tell you what you can't do, and the democrats want to tell you what you must do. That's an oversimplification of course (and you don't need to sign my guestbook pointing out examples of republican prescriptions and democratic proscriptions) but like many other oversimplifications, it is essentially valid.

So. No matter who wins, we can be guaranteed that the stupid and repressive party lost. I'm happy.

I'll be even happier if the right to gay marriage remains a primary issue for the next few years. I can't think of anything better for the country to be polarized over... and, in any case, I view it as a win-win situation. If the GLBT3QELC* is finally given the right to marry, good. They deserve to be treated equally.** If they are denied the right to marry, good. Marriage is an outdated institution that serves little function in modern society and is a drain on a public resources; the more we can do to discourage marriage, the better.

Ideally, I'd like to see the institution of heterosexual marriage disbanded, but I know that that just isn't too likely to happen. Heterosexual marriage is too sacred.

Brief, but sacred.


For those of you who are curious who I'll be voting for, I admit that I don't know. I have yet to see anything that conclusively demonstrates that one party would indeed be better than the other... and the issues that most deeply effect the people whose opinions carry weight with me (MTC, panther, astralounge and S.) are simply not issues that I genuinely care about.

Maybe I'll vote for Nader. Isn't he a bastard? I like to think that the republicans are paying him to run... you know, to drag away a certain fringe element that would otherwise vote democrat.


*Gay Lesbian Bi-sexual Transsexual Transvestite Transgendered Queer Excessively Labeled Community

**Also, I bet that gay weddings would be fucking awesome spectacles.












NEXT PREVIOUS